Lavender Earl Grey Scones with Lemon Glaze

As the weather has been absolutely beautiful lately, I have been thoroughly enjoying my extra time off from work.  It’s been full of gardening, writing, reading, baking, and (I’m not going to lie) pinteresting.  For a while now, I had been meaning to try my hand at making Earl Grey scones, but just hadn’t gotten around to it.  Today, at last, after spending a lovely afternoon puttering in my garden, evening the ground for a path, and digging up an obstinate lilac bush, I found time to try my hand at the scones.

Lavender Earl Grey Scones.jpg

After testing them on myself and my family, I’ve completely fallen in love with the light taste of the classic tea in combination with my mother’s home grown lavender. The recipe I used comes from another blogger, and I have included the link at the bottom of the page, as well as my own recipe for lemon glaze, which is my addition to the original recipe.  The scones can also be served with honey instead of glaze.

*Glaze is one of the easiest things to make, and is almost impossible to mess up.  (Believe me, I know.  If there’s a way to mess up a recipe, I’ll find it).

Lemon Glaze

Ingredients:

Améo Lemon Essential Oil

Confectioners’ Sugar

Milk

Directions:

  1. Add two to three teaspoons of milk to a fourth of a cup of confectioners’ sugar.
  2. Stir until the mixture is of a thick consistency, but still liquid.
  3. If the mixture is too thick, add small amounts of milk till mixture can be easily drizzled over the scones, if too thin, add more confectioners’ sugar.
  4. Once mixture is of a good consistency, add 2 drops of Améo Lemon Essential Oil.
  5. Lastly, drizzle the glaze over your cooled Lavender Earl Grey Scones for the finishing touch.
  6. Add a sprig or two of lavender as a garnish and serve.

Single Scone.jpg

 

Click the link below for the recipe:

Lavender Earl Grey Scones

Leave a Reply

